Pressing pigments!

I looked up info on how to press pigments a little while back, but never went through with it. The subject came up again this weekend in my makeup group via this awesome post over at Peace, Love & Makeup. I was instantly inspired to press my MAC Summer Stash crushed metallic pigment stack from the Surf Baby collection. I adore this pigment stack, but it is so hard to work with so I rarely use it. I hit up youtube immediately to look for a tutorial I had come across previously about pressing MAC pigments:

I am an instant gratification kind of girl so even though I had no supplies I decided to make it happen. Luckily, I had just purchased 91% isobutyl alcohol for sanitizing my makeup (I will be making a separate post about that also) & I had one ELF shadow single from the Custom Elements collection. I busted up the eyeshadow & trashed it so that I could use the pan. It was only $1 anyway, so what the hell! I decided to go for the darkest pigment in the stack first since I use it the least. I followed the video posted above & added drops of alcohol until I achieved the desired consistency. I let the pigment sit for about an hour to an hour and a half, then I did a finger swatch when it looked dry to test it:

Everything looked as it should, so I continued following the video by placing the shadow pan under a cloth napkin & placing two quarters on top. I then placed a heavy ceramic cookie jar on top of my set up & went to bed. I awoke this morning to find a lovely pressed pigment!

I then decided that I had to do the rest of the stack immediately, but again, no supplies. Fortunately, the Target right around the corner has recently started carrying ELF products. I ran out and purchase 3 more shadow singles & the ELF Elements 4-pan magnetic palette. When I got home I repeated the process for the remaining colors in my pigment stack.

I am so excited to use these pressed shadows. It was like shopping in your own stash. As I mentioned earlier, I feel that I will get much more use out of this stack now that it has been pressed. Personally, I am more comfortable with using pressed shadows so this was a great solution. I have already ordered supplies to press the rest of my loose pigments. This was really a fun little project for a makeup lover like myself. I think I may have found a new hobby. Here is the finished product, my very own custom MAC Summer Stash pressed palette, yay!

Leave a Reply

